Changing Css And Updating?

I am looking at changing the look of my marketplace. I have many years of experience with CSS and would like to edit the CSS manually. I have made a clone of the responsive theme and would like to start editing styles.pcl.css files and the other addons CSS files. My question is when I need to upgrade CS Cart will my CSS be saved and usable in the updated version? I see how people us my_changes folder but that seems like adding clutter and extra files that are not necessary. Thanks for the help.

I am looking at changing the look of my marketplace. I have many years of experience with CSS and would like to edit the CSS manually. I have made a clone of the responsive theme and would like to start editing styles.pcl.css files and the other addons CSS files. My question is when I need to upgrade CS Cart will my CSS be saved and usable in the updated version? I see how people us my_changes folder but that seems like adding clutter and extra files that are not necessary. Thanks for the help.

If you modify the default CS-Cart files they may be overwritten during the upgrade. We recommend to make changes via Custom CSS section of the Visual editor. To enable Visual Editor go to the Design > Themes page in the administration panel and click the Visual Editor button.

Feel free to use My changes module

http://forum.cs-cart.com/topic/37510-how-to-add-custom-css-with-my-changes-addon/

It will not increase significantly the amount files (just two extra files are required)

If you modify the default CS-Cart files they may be overwritten during the upgrade. We recommend to make changes via Custom CSS section of the Visual editor. To enable Visual Editor go to the Design > Themes page in the administration panel and click the Visual Editor button.