The Admin setting “Allow guest to create an account after successful order” doesnt seem to do anything.
A customer that ordered as a guest or “Anonymous” can come back later, and register with the same email address that the order was created under, but the order cannot be viewed by the customer after registering. So I wonder what is the purpose of this setting?
I believe this only works when they create the account immediately after successfully completing the order. There is a box at the last step to create the password. If they don't do it at this time and come back after closing the session, I don't think it will work. At least, this is what I have seen.
Well that makes sense, I dont reckon any of my customers will get the urge to register immediately after a successful order.
So Ill just require registration at checkout.