• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Myisam To Innodb Did You Tried? Rate Topic   - - - - -

Posted 14 February 2018 - 09:27 PM #1

Hello All,

have you ever tried MYISAM to INNODB converting? did it work?

I do understand that cs-cart started in year 2004 and those times only solution for the search and index text field was MyISAM storage engine, as on InnoDB was not possible.

but after MySQL 5.6, indexing text is allowed on InnoDB. but why cs-cart didn't convert the storage engine?

Actually InnoDB is much better than MyISAM, because it allows you write and read on the same time, but it was not possible on MyISAM.

it will effects the performance and work. as well, coding too. I am not PHP coder and I do code on windows. but still, I do very good understand what is what.

currently, what I found is that the cs-cart works like, this; read code little bit, read MySQL, and read code.. so, between code and server..

I am new to the cs-cart multi-vendor and don't know every thing yet. but why the architects didn't or don't want to convert to InnoDB?

on the other hand, like Amazon Arora services, only allows InnoDB, not the MyISAM. and I believe that InnoDB is better than MyISAM and still research.

have you ever tried MYISAM to INNODB converting? did it work?

Thanks in advance!

• tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • 10,223 posts

Posted 14 February 2018 - 11:05 PM #2

You need to read up on the +/- of MyIsam versus InnoDB.  In short, updates to data take longer with InnoDB (due to managing record locks) but reads can happen while an update is in process (will block on locked record).  For MyIsam, the table is locked while being updated but reads are faster because the mySQL engine does't have to manage record locks.  Good indexing will help both methods.

InnoDB is much better for very large and very active tables.  MyIsam is better for smaller tables (less than a million rows) that don't change frequently.