Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Move Cs-Cart Installation And Leave 3Rd Party Addons Behind Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • RK_56
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 33 posts

Posted 20 April 2017 - 11:05 PM #1

Hi,

 

I am having a terrible problem with a 3rd party addon. Is there any way to move my store and database and leave all the 3rd party addons behind?

 

I ask this as the addon works for the addon develper with the latest Cs-Cart installation but on my server it is crashing the site.

 

Or, is there a way to reinstall Cs-Cart and hopefully overwrite and repair files?

 

Thanks.



 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 1,805 posts

Posted 21 April 2017 - 05:44 AM #2

Hi,

 

I am having a terrible problem with a 3rd party addon. Is there any way to move my store and database and leave all the 3rd party addons behind?

 

I ask this as the addon works for the addon develper with the latest Cs-Cart installation but on my server it is crashing the site.

 

Or, is there a way to reinstall Cs-Cart and hopefully overwrite and repair files?

 

Thanks.

 

Hello!

 

 

Is your site also crashing after disabling the add-on? This is very bad. It means that some core files have been changed. I suppose you have already cleared cache.

 

Ask the developer to fix their errors or cut out the whole add-on from your store.


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE
Testing by QA and personal manager for free.

 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 13,204 posts

Posted 21 April 2017 - 07:35 AM #3

PM me temporary FTP access, we will try to find a reason


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration

Certified CS-Cart RU Developer | Сертифицированный разработчик на CS-Cart Русская Версия

 
  • RK_56
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 33 posts

Posted 21 April 2017 - 01:33 PM #4

Hi Oleg,

 

They said they removed all files and reinstalled and the core files are corrupted.

 

I would like to start out will a correct install to begin with. I have had nothing but problems from the beginning as I used a USA-based developer and he did a terrible job for me. I didn't find out about his poor work until I read comments here on the forum.

 

I'd like to keep my customers/orders/products but I really think I need a new install of the core software.

 

Can the store import work moving these items to a new install on my server? What would be the best practice for this?

 

Randy



 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 1,805 posts

Posted 21 April 2017 - 05:11 PM #5

Hi Oleg,

 

They said they removed all files and reinstalled and the core files are corrupted.

 

I would like to start out will a correct install to begin with. I have had nothing but problems from the beginning as I used a USA-based developer and he did a terrible job for me. I didn't find out about his poor work until I read comments here on the forum.

 

I'd like to keep my customers/orders/products but I really think I need a new install of the core software.

 

Can the store import work moving these items to a new install on my server? What would be the best practice for this?

 

Randy

 

Try to make the dev store at a different folder at first and make store import.


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE
Testing by QA and personal manager for free.

 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 9,438 posts

Posted 21 April 2017 - 09:06 PM #6

You could also contact the helpdesk and ask them for the distributed archive for your version of cs-cart.

You would then extract the archive into a separate directory and remove the install directory.

Then copy the directory trees you are concerned about.

 

If you're running a recent version, then you also have the ability to identify core files that have changed.  While my sxperience is that this isn't very accurate, it errors on the side of false positives versus missing changes.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote).
Commercial addons and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.

 
  • RK_56
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 33 posts

Posted 22 April 2017 - 02:18 PM #7

I had another developer look at this and their report is there are no corrupted files. Everything is as it should be.

 

The add-on is the trouble and I've uninstalled it and I will not work with it again. It was an add-on that in theory is quite helpful for me, but if it is going to cause me such grief, it is better to stay away.

 

You all are very helpful and the Forum here is a better place because of your willingness to help.