Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Categories Tree? Rate Topic   - - - - -

 

Posted 01 January 2017 - 01:05 AM #1

Is there a way to make the categories tree start minimized by default instead of having every category open and maximized.  Thanks.



 

Posted 02 January 2017 - 05:31 AM #2

Is there a way to make the categories tree start minimized by default instead of having every category open and maximized.  Thanks.

 

Hi,

Yes you can minimise it  by passing  show_all=false  parameter where category list tpl file  get included then it will show only parent category not all. You can view child category corresponding parent when you clink on that parent category.

 

Thanks 



 

Posted 02 January 2017 - 06:46 AM #3

Could you give a little more detail?  Thank you.



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 15,724 posts

Posted 04 January 2017 - 07:02 AM #4

Open the config.php file and change the 100 value

define('CATEGORY_SHOW_ALL', 100);  // if number of categories less than this value, categories tree will be expanded

GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration

Certified CS-Cart RU Developer | Сертифицированный разработчик на CS-Cart Русская Версия

 

Posted 04 January 2017 - 04:01 PM #5

Thanks guys!



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 15,724 posts

Posted 05 January 2017 - 07:27 AM #6

You are welcome!


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration

Certified CS-Cart RU Developer | Сертифицированный разработчик на CS-Cart Русская Версия

 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 632 posts

Posted 27 July 2017 - 02:34 PM #7

This is regarding the Admin side right.?

We use portrait monitors so it would be good to have all subcats expanded by default. However, even with only 65 cat's, the tree is still minimised. I even set CATEGORY_SHOW_ALL', 11000 just to test, but no effect, even after deleting cache.

Using CsCart v4.6.x this setting does not have any effect for me.



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 15,724 posts

Posted 28 July 2017 - 06:25 AM #8

This is regarding the Admin side right.?

We use portrait monitors so it would be good to have all subcats expanded by default. However, even with only 65 cat's, the tree is still minimised. I even set CATEGORY_SHOW_ALL', 11000 just to test, but no effect, even after deleting cache.

Using CsCart v4.6.x this setting does not have any effect for me.

 

I have just tested it on 4.6.1 and it works perfectly. Please make sure that you did not mix up CATEGORY_SHOW_ALL value with the CATEGORY_THRESHOLD one


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration

Certified CS-Cart RU Developer | Сертифицированный разработчик на CS-Cart Русская Версия

 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 632 posts

Posted 31 July 2017 - 02:56 AM #9

I edited only CATEGORY_SHOW_ALL not any other line.
Tried full delete of the /var/cache and local browser cache.
The tree is completely collapsed even tho' I have set to 1000, even tried 11000 to make sure.

define('CATEGORY_THRESHOLD', 100); 
define('CATEGORY_SHOW_ALL', 1000); 

Because we use Portrait monitors for all our website editing and admin, its easier if we can expand all cats.

Actually, even better would be for the expanded status of all cat's to be remembered, and open up the same way until session is closed... but just to have this work would help.

We have less than 60 sub/categories in this store, so I wonder why the setting has no effect?
CSC version is 4.6.1



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 15,724 posts

Posted 31 July 2017 - 06:22 AM #10

I edited only CATEGORY_SHOW_ALL not any other line.
Tried full delete of the /var/cache and local browser cache.
The tree is completely collapsed even tho' I have set to 1000, even tried 11000 to make sure.

define('CATEGORY_THRESHOLD', 100); 
define('CATEGORY_SHOW_ALL', 1000); 

Because we use Portrait monitors for all our website editing and admin, its easier if we can expand all cats.

Actually, even better would be for the expanded status of all cat's to be remembered, and open up the same way until session is closed... but just to have this work would help.

We have less than 60 sub/categories in this store, so I wonder why the setting has no effect?
CSC version is 4.6.1

 

Support team mentioned recently that if you have several store-fronts, categories will be always minimized


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration

Certified CS-Cart RU Developer | Сертифицированный разработчик на CS-Cart Русская Версия

 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 632 posts

Posted 21 August 2017 - 10:39 AM #11

Well that is disappointing... If its not mentioned in the docs then its a bug... or is it another "working as designed" dis-functionality?



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 15,724 posts

Posted 21 August 2017 - 01:16 PM #12

Well that is disappointing... If its not mentioned in the docs then its a bug... or is it another "working as designed" dis-functionality?

 

Look from the other side, if you have 10 store-fronts and want to check the last one, you should scroll long page


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration

Certified CS-Cart RU Developer | Сертифицированный разработчик на CS-Cart Русская Версия

 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 632 posts

Posted 22 August 2017 - 06:11 AM #13

We use Portrait monitors, so theres not much scrolling.
Look at it this way, if you are viewing category tree for only one store which has only 60 categories, then the setting for define('CATEGORY_SHOW_ALL', 100);  should work ... it doesnt work.
Whats the point of having such a setting if it does not work?

 



 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 632 posts

Posted 15 November 2017 - 10:08 AM #14

Is there possibly an easy fix for this as it really annoying me now. every bl@#dy time i go to the categories tree I have to click the cat's to expand them again.

At lease if the browser could remember the last state , per session that would help!

 

Better still have an Admin > Settings > Expand category tree: [below n cat's] that acts per storefront.

C'mon this is obvious stuff that just makes life a bit  easier.

 

In the short term, if I could hard code to always expand Cat' tree by default.. would help untill this is fixed.

This setting should be available in admin, not hard coded in the php file !

Hardcoded or not, the setting does not work... its a bug.



 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 632 posts

Posted 15 November 2017 - 10:34 AM #15

 

Yes you can minimise it  by passing  show_all=false  parameter where category list tpl file  get included then it will show only parent category not all. You can view child category corresponding parent when you clink on that parent category.

 

To be a little more accurate , did you mean this line of  design\backend\templates\views\categories\update.tpl

{include file="views/categories/components/categories_links_tree.tpl" show_all=false categories_tree=$categories_tree}

I set it to show_all=true but cats still not expanding.



 
  • Alexfu
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 04-Dec 17
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 December 2017 - 03:51 PM #16

Doesnt work for me :confused:

I'll try to do every step ones more



 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 632 posts

Posted 05 December 2017 - 06:25 AM #17

Thats right... it does not work...