Help with understanding Hooks

I'm just getting into my first CS-cart site design and I'm having some issues getting hooks working. I have done a fair amount of research on how to use them, but there is also a lot of older information out there that is confusing me on how to use them. I'm just trying to make a simple test hook work to figure it out. I'm trying to override the top.tpl file in the index:main_content hook. So I'm just going to go through what I steps I have taken to try and get them working.

1. Make sure you have “My Changes” add-on enable in add ons under admin in the cart settings.

2. Create a folder in your active skin folder. This is a litte confusing. I've seen a lot of conflicting information on the folder structure, but I'm currently using this:

/skins/MY_SKIN_NAME/customer/addons/my_changes/hooks/index/

3. Create a file in /skins/MY_SKIN_NAME/customer/addons/my_changes/hooks/index/ called “main_content.override.tpl”

4. Place my code in that file

hooked up

5. Save and upload.

6. Clear your browser cache and refresh the page.

So I'm just expecting to see "Hooked up" at the top of my page in an

. But I'm still just getting the same old header. Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong?

[quote name='pablo631' timestamp='1323283916' post='127453']

I'm just getting into my first CS-cart site design and I'm having some issues getting hooks working. I have done a fair amount of research on how to use them, but there is also a lot of older information out there that is confusing me on how to use them. I'm just trying to make a simple test hook work to figure it out. I'm trying to override the top.tpl file in the index:main_content hook. So I'm just going to go through what I steps I have taken to try and get them working.

1. Make sure you have “My Changes” add-on enable in add ons under admin in the cart settings.